Find Schools & Degree Programs - Your New Career Training Starts Here!

Cisco Interconnecting Networking Devices Part 2 Training

Online ICND 2 Training Classes

The Cisco ICND Part 2 exam, titled Interconnecting Cisco Network Devices Part 2, is required to gain CCNA certification. Paired with Part 1 of the same exam, IT professionals with 1 to 3 years of experience may take the exam to demonstrate their skills in networking systems. The CCNA, or Cisco Certified Networking Associate, certification is a base-level certification for any IT professional looking to learn more about and verify their skills in working with Cisco products. The certification covers areas including installation, monitoring, maintenance and troubleshooting for a workplace network infrastructure. Cisco considers the CCNA the foundation for its more advanced, Professional- and Expert-level certification programs. After completing the certification, job-seekers might have a leg up in looking for positions including network specialist, network administrator, and network engineer. Testing skills such as the ability to install, operate and troubleshoot a small to medium-sized enterprise branch network, the ICND 2 exam requires students to demonstrate the skills necessary to succeed in entry- and mid-level networking positions.

The topics tested include:

  • extending switched networks to VLANs
  • determining IP routes
  • managing IP traffic
  • establishing point-to-point connections

The CCNA certification is valid for three years, and can be renewed by re-taking the ICND 2 exam; taking the CCNA exam, which is a composite of the ICND 1 and ICND 2 tests; or taking any higher-level Cisco certification exam. For those who are seeking employment in the information technology field, or are looking to gain additional training for their current positions, Cisco Systems, Inc. offers a wide range of certifications in its products. Specializing in networking equipment, Cisco Systems is headquartered in San Jose, Calif. Its products have a heavy workplace focus, and span a wide variety of networking, security, and data management services and business solutions. Cisco offers five levels of IT certification on nine different product tracks. Certifications are available the following levels: Entry, Associate, Professional, Expert, and Architect. The product tracks offered are: Routing & Switching, Design, Network Security, Wireless, Voice, Data Center, Storage Networking, Service Provider, and Collaboration. Training and exams related to each of these certifications are administered by the Cisco Learning Network, at The online portal provides resources for learning options, business community networking, and careers, including a jobs listing portal for those who have completed their Cisco certifications.

Cisco refers to the CCNA, the Associate program, as the “apprentice or foundation” level for networking professionals. Certification is available specifically for network operations (CCNA) or network design (CCDA). While there is only one exam option on the design track, there are several on the operations side, with test tracks covering Routing and Switching, Voice, Wireless, Security, Data Center, Service Provider, and Service Provider Operations. These certifications require a significant background of knowledge, and may involve more than one exam. The specific exams required for the CCNA program vary depending on the area of focus. For example, the base-level CCNA focuses on Routing & Switching. The Interconnecting Cisco Network Devices Part 2 exam is 75 minutes, and is composed of 40 to 50 questions. It is administered in a timed, proctored environment, and is available in English, Japanese, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Russian. Cisco offers an optional, five-day, classroom or virtual classroom course to help students prepare for the exam. It’s recommended that prospective students possess basic computer, technology and online literacy before enrolling in the course. It’s necessary that students have successfully completed the ICND 1 exam before registering for the ICND 2 test, or committing to the preparation course. The course covers topics similar to those tested in the exam, with modules focusing on:

  • Small network implementation
  • Medium-sized switched and routed network construction
  • Access control lists
  • LAN extension into a WAN

After passing the ICND 2 exam and earning a CCNA certification, IT professionals will be able to apply for entry-level networking positions, and likely those that require 1 to 3 years of experience, as well. Job areas could include network specialist, network administrator, or network engineer.